Language
FR EN
Currency
units

Discover Luxembourg

Luxembourg

Welcoming and sophisticated

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is ranking among the top countries in the world in terms of quality of life. Classified as a Unesco World Heritage site, the capital captures the eyes and captivate the hearts.

The most sought-after areas such as Belair, Limpertsberg, Pétrusse or Merl are within walking distance to the city center with fancy restaurants, shops and art galleries. One can find here a variety of architectural styles from Belle Époque Villas and contemporary townhouses to historic loft conversions.


Kirchberg business district

A cosmopolitan place to live

A favorable socio-economic context

As a constitutional monarchy with a particularly open economy, Luxembourg combines social and political stability with a relatively low rate of unemployment, multicultural workforce and strong government initiatives to diversify activities. This is demonstrated in the government’s active support of research projects and its investment incentive policies.

One of the highest standards of living in the world

Although prices are fairly similar to those in neighboring countries (France, Belgium, Germany), income per capita is much higher in Luxembourg. Consequently, purchasing power parity in Luxembourg is among the highest in the world.

A cosmopolitan place to live

One of the remarkable features of Luxembourg is the diversity of origins of its population. Almost 48% of the resident population of the Grand Duchy is of foreign origin, with more than 170 different nationalities listed.

Advantageous tax system

Luxembourg’s tax system is particularly advantageous; income tax rates are among the lowest in Europe. The income tax system is based on 19 progressive brackets, with a maximum marginal tax rate of 40%. Since the 1st of January 2015, the minimum rate of VAT has been 17%, the lowest in the EU ahead of Malta, Cyprus and Germany.


Findel Airport

Luxembourg: the crossroads of Europe

One of Luxembourg’s main advantages is its geographical location. It sits in the heart of Western Europe, between France, Belgium and Germany, in close proximity to a number of large cities. Indeed, London, Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam, Zürich and Berlin are all just one hour away by plane. Luxembourg’s Findel airport is located 15 minutes from Luxembourg City center, making it possible to quickly reach over 60 destinations in Europe and North Africa.

Daily life

Unrivaled services


Mamer European School

Establishment

Luxembourg is a small country where it is easy to contact the authorities. Procedures are straightforward, particularly when it comes to obtaining administrative documents. In a bid to further simplify administrative procedures, Luxembourg has created a virtual one-stop-shop (www.guichet.lu) where you can consult a wide array of information and carry out essential formalities.

Education

In addition to the importance given to languages instruction in the education system, and the existence of numerous international schools on its territory, Luxembourg presents the peculiarity of successfully integrating foreign pupils and being very open to the teaching possibilities offered by nearby countries.

Health

Based on the values of solidarity, universal accessibility and equal opportunity, the entire population is covered by the Luxembourg healthcare system under Assurance Maladie (state health insurance). Patients are free to choose their own provider and have direct access to specialist consultants.

Lifestyle

Luxembourg’s rich history, location at the heart of Europe, and wealth of financial assets lend a positive influence on tourism, culture, and leisure. In fact, Luxembourg has such a wealth and variety of cultural activities that you can go out every day of the year.

Brochure

Chamber of Commerce

Published by the Chamber of Commerce, the brochure Living and Working in Luxembourg offers a very detailed overview of the country and lists all useful information for newcomers.

Brochure

Langue
FR EN
Devise
unités

Découvrir le Luxembourg

Luxembourg

Un pays accueillant et sophistiqué

Le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg s’est au fil des années positionné en peloton de tête des pays les plus agréables à vivre. Classée au Patrimoine Mondial de l’Unesco, la capitale séduit par son dynamisme et sa beauté. Les quartiers les plus recherchés tels que Belair, Limpertsberg, Pétrusse et Merl se trouvent à quelques pas du centre-ville avec ses restaurants, boutiques et galeries d’art. Au coeur de leurs rues résidentielles sont nichées des propriétés aux styles variés : villas de style Belle Epoque, lofts modernes et maisons de ville de charme.


Quartier d’affaires du Kirchberg

Un lieu cosmopolite où il fait bon vivre

Un contexte socio-économique favorable

Monarchie constitutionnelle à l’économie particulièrement ouverte, le Luxembourg allie grande stabilité sociale et politique, taux de chômage relativement bas et main-d’oeuvre multiculturelle. A cela s'ajoute une forte volonté gouvernementale de diversifier les activités qui se manifeste notamment à travers un soutien actif à la recherche et une politique incitative à destination des investisseurs.

Un niveau de vie parmi les plus élevés au monde

Alors que le niveau de prix est relativement semblable à celui des pays limitrophes (France, Allemagne, Belgique), le revenu par habitant est beaucoup plus élevé sur le sol grand-ducal et le pouvoir d’achat par habitant y est l’un des plus élevés au monde. Par ailleurs, la qualité de vie au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg est considérée comme l’une des meilleures en Europe et se situe parmi les plus élevées de l’ensemble des pays développés.

Un pays multiculturel

L’une des particularités remarquables du Luxembourg est la diversité d’origines de sa population. Près de 48% de la population résidente du Grand-Duché est d’origine étrangère, avec plus de 170 nationalités différentes recensées.

Une fiscalité avantageuse

La fiscalité luxembourgeoise est particulièrement favorable : le taux de l’impôt sur le revenu des personnes physiques est l’un des plus bas en Europe. Il repose sur 19 tranches progressives, avec un taux d’imposition marginal maximal de 40% et avec un taux maximal d’imposition sur les sociétés de 29,22%. Par ailleurs, le taux maximal de TVA de 17 % depuis le 1er janvier 2015 est le plus faible de l’Union européenne devant Malte, Chypre et l’Allemagne.


Aéroport du Findel

Une localisation au carrefour de l’Europe

L’une des principales caractéristiques du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg est sa situation géographique. Situé entre la France, la Belgique et l’Allemagne, le Luxembourg occupe une position centrale en Europe occidentale, à proximité de nombreuses métropoles. Londres, Paris, Bruxelles, Amsterdam, Zürich et Berlin se trouvent à une heure d’avion. L’aéroport de Luxembourg (Findel), situé à 15 minutes du centre-ville de Luxembourg permet de se rendre très rapidement vers plus de 60 destinations en Europe et en Afrique du Nord.

Vie quotidienne

Des services inégalés


Ecole Européenne de Mamer

installation

Le Luxembourg est un pays de petite taille et les démarches s’en trouvent grandement facilitées, notamment pour l’obtention de documents administratifs. En outre, par volontéde simplification, l’état a créé un guichet unique virtuel www.guichet.lu où il est possible de consulter de nombreuses informations et d’effectuer l’essentiel des démarches.

education

Outre l’importance accordée à l’enseignement des langues dans le système éducatifet l’existence de nombreuses écoles internationales sur son territoire, le Luxembourg présente la particularité d’une grande habitude d’intégration d’élèves étrangers et d’une grande ouverture sur les possibilités d’enseignements des pays voisins.

santé

Basé sur les valeurs de solidarité, d’accessibilité universelle et d’équité de traitement, le système de santé luxembourgeois se caractérise notamment par une couverture universelle de la population via une assurance maladie, le libre choix du prestataire par le patient et l’accès direct aux médecins spécialistes.

loisirs et culture

Le Luxembourg se situe au cœur de l’Europe et présente bien des atouts économiques. Ces éléments ont une influence très positive sur le tourisme, la culture et les loisirs. Au Luxembourg, la richesse et la diversité de l’offre culturelle sont telles qu’il serait possible de sortir chaque jour de l’année.

publication

Chambre de Commerce

Editée par la chambre de commerce, la brochure Vivre et Travailler à Luxembourg offre un aperçu très détaillé du pays et recense toutes les informations utiles aux nouveaux arrivants.

Brochure